nodehoogl.blogg.se

Divine halberd mocks the heavens
Divine halberd mocks the heavens









divine halberd mocks the heavens divine halberd mocks the heavens

An please your Worship, Brakenbury, You may partake of anything we say. His Majesty hath straitly given in charge That no man shall have private conference, Of what degree soever, with your brother. BRAKENBURY I beseech your Graces both to pardon me. The jealous o’erworn widow and herself, Since that our brother dubbed them gentlewomen, Are mighty gossips in our monarchy. I’ll tell you what : I think it is our way, If we will keep in favor with the King, To be her men and wear her livery. Heard you not what an humble suppliant Lord Hastings was to her for his delivery ? RICHARD Humbly complaining to her Deity Got my Lord Chamberlain his liberty. CLARENCE By heaven, I think there is no man secure But the Queen’s kindred and night-walking heralds That trudge betwixt the King and Mistress Shore. Was it not she and that good man of worship, Anthony Woodeville, her brother there, That made him send Lord Hastings to the Tower, From whence this present day he is delivered ? We are not safe, Clarence we are not safe. My Lady Grey his wife, Clarence, ’tis she That tempers him to this extremity. ’Tis not the King that sends you to the Tower. RICHARD Why, this it is when men are ruled by women. These, as I learn, and such like toys as these Hath moved his Highness to commit me now. And for my name of George begins with G, It follows in his thought that I am he. But, as I can learn, He hearkens after prophecies and dreams, And from the crossrow plucks the letter G, And says a wizard told him that by “ G ” His issue disinherited should be. But what’s the matter, Clarence ? May I know ? CLARENCE Yea, Richard, when I know, for I protest As yet I do not. O, belike his Majesty hath some intent That you should be new christened in the Tower. He should, for that, commit your godfathers. RICHARD Alack, my lord, that fault is none of yours. RICHARD Upon what cause ? CLARENCE Because my name is George. What means this armèd guard That waits upon your Grace ? CLARENCE His Majesty, Tend’ring my person’s safety, hath appointed This conduct to convey me to the Tower. Enter Clarence, guarded, and Brakenbury. Plots have I laid, inductions dangerous, By drunken prophecies, libels, and dreams, To set my brother Clarence and the King In deadly hate, the one against the other And if King Edward be as true and just As I am subtle, false, and treacherous, This day should Clarence closely be mewed up About a prophecy which says that “ G ” Of Edward’s heirs the murderer shall be. And therefore, since I cannot prove a lover To entertain these fair well-spoken days, I am determinèd to prove a villain And hate the idle pleasures of these days. But I, that am not shaped for sportive tricks, Nor made to court an amorous looking glass I, that am rudely stamped and want love’s majesty To strut before a wanton ambling nymph I, that am curtailed of this fair proportion, Cheated of feature by dissembling nature, Deformed, unfinished, sent before my time Into this breathing world scarce half made up, And that so lamely and unfashionable That dogs bark at me as I halt by them - Why, I, in this weak piping time of peace, Have no delight to pass away the time, Unless to see my shadow in the sun And descant on mine own deformity. Grim-visaged war hath smoothed his wrinkled front And now, instead of mounting barbèd steeds To fright the souls of fearful adversaries, He capers nimbly in a lady’s chamber To the lascivious pleasing of a lute. Now are our brows bound with victorious wreaths, Our bruisèd arms hung up for monuments, Our stern alarums changed to merry meetings, Our dreadful marches to delightful measures. RICHARD Now is the winter of our discontent Made glorious summer by this son of York, And all the clouds that loured upon our house In the deep bosom of the ocean buried. Scene 1 Enter Richard, Duke of Gloucester, alone.











Divine halberd mocks the heavens